NCC 1701 A, Embroidery on Canvas

Enterprise

I’m not much of a painter, but I grabbed a few canvases while they were half price, thinking I’d come up with a project later.  Ta-da!

I used some cheap acrylic metallic blue paint for the base and then went over it with a silvery grey.  I found a “blueprint” for the starship Enterprise online (this is actually NCC 1701 A, which was never used in the TV show but appeared in Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home*) and taped it to the back side of the canvas.  I then used a seam ripper to poke holes along the outside of the ships.  Then I took some gold embroidery thread and sewed into the pre-punched holes.

Enterprise

I’m brainstorming other silhouetted images to make another one.  Hopefully this time I’ll be patient enough to take a few process pictures along the way.

*Nerd alert.

Leave a Reply

